Just listen to him

No, I don’t mean “Do what he says”. By “just listen to him” I wanted to talk about Men’s mental health. Sometimes men need a push to make them talk so that you can listen. They need it sometimes. Men deal with things differently from how women deal with things. But as a man I can only tell, some men need a push to actually make them TALK. When a guy talks a lot doesn’t mean he talks all.

Moving on from talking in third person, this time I am taking me as a subject. Reluctance, Grief, Righteousness etc are tip of an iceberg of feelings I go through everyday even if it’s for a small fraction of my day. I did want to be listened. Mostly I listen to myself. Trust me it helps. Helps to step ahead out of the current state ? May be not. But helps to not to go darker right now. That’s all men need. Reassurance that, I can sleep better tonight because I didn’t make a wrong call and become someone I never wanted to be. Yup, Men overthink too.

If you have men in your life who would attend your phone call even during a busy day at work, call him and just tell him you are there to listen if he needs. Makes a lot of difference. Not all men talk to themselves as I do. But even I could use an extra pair of ears that would listen to me.

A broken man with values of his own, does have a slight shade of colour in him. That colour fades into darkness when darkness of any kind like wrath/guilt takes over his mind ensuing an incident or series of incidents. People talk to him but he sticks to dealing with his wrath/guilt in his own way, even though he knows he might never get the shade of colour back. Why does he still do it ? His mind believes there is only one way ahead. Someone should’ve showed him other ways. This is something you have to know about men. One slip and the colour fades. You won’t see it did unless you listen.

The words “Men’s mind need help from outside too” is coming from a man who believed self-help is all men needed.

So, just listen to him !

Leave a comment